First Anniversary, No Sugar Since June 3, 2010

Vegan Lemon Cookies

No Sugar Vegan Lemon Cookies

It is 1 year since I have quit sugar, June 3, 2010 was the doctors appointment that helped me change my habits. My choices…. no sugar, or pharmaceuticals. My blood tests were showing high sugar readings and the nurse practitioner informed me that I would have to go on medication in a few months if I didn’t get the blood test readings under control. Perhaps even face having diabetes.

This last year has taught me how much sugar affects our health, and, yes, it was VERY difficult to get rid of sugar. It’s in so much food! And, it is very addictive. But, I was determined to do what I could to change the numbers in my blood test, and I have, dramatically. There were really 2 things that I changed immediately. Increased my exercise and taking all sugar out of my diet.

I thought that practicing a plant-based diet meant that I was not consuming much sugar, but, how wrong I was. Those vegan desserts are filled with high glycemic sweeteners! And, I know how bad artificial sweeteners are, they were not an option for me. I wanted this to be a healthy, safe change. I found 2 sweeteners that I now use, both are low glycemic.

Agave – made from the Agave plant it comes in both a liquid (like honey) and a powder. Very sweet and I actually like it better than honey. My choice, 365 Organic Light Agave Nectar at Whole Foods.

Erythritol – I use Wholesome Organic Zero, made from organic sugar cane juice which is naturally fermented and crystallizedand a zero calorie sweetener. It’s about 70% the sweetness of sugar and is granulated, so you can easily replace the granulated sugar you now use.

My first goal is to learn how to make vegan cookies using these ingredients. The first time I tried they made great dog biscuits! My dogs LOVE them. But, I want to have some cookies too, so I’m going to keep trying until I have a vegan cookie with no sugar.

This evening was my second try with the photo above to prove it, I’ll offer them to the family and find out what the response is. The chocolate chips are SunSpire Grain Sweetened Chocolate Chips, good right out of the bag.

Wish me luck!
Tana Dean
Vegan Skin and Body Care (ID #10311718)

 

Leave a Reply

