Vegan Waldorf Salad

WaldorfSalad_1113One of my favorites in cooking vegan is trying to take those familiar recipes and redoing them as vegan with the taste and enjoyment as a vegan dish.

Next time I decide to do a photo I’ll use darker grapes, but, you get the idea. These green grapes were just so sweet and delicious, the apple is a Honey Crisp and organic walnuts. Very easy and quick, actually I eat this for breakfast sometimes.

I’m careful of my sugar intake and have found that using agave (I use raw agave) and Stevia in the Raw gives me the sweetness I’m looking for in many recipes. Stevia by itself has that bitter aftertaste which I don’t like.

This is a small recipe, just add to it for a family sized gathering. And adjust the ingredients to make it your own.

1/2 – Honey Crisp apple
1 – slice lemon
1 – stick celery
1/2 C – walnuts
1 to 1-1/2 C – grapes (whatever you have on hand)
3-4 grinds black pepper

Cut celery and apple into the size pieces that you want, I don’t like them too large because I want to taste the dressing. Place in bowl. Squeeze the lemon juice over the apples to keep them from browning and mix. Add grapes that have been cut in half. Add walnuts, I give them a course chop, and black pepper.

Dressing:
1/2 C – Vegannaise
(available at Whole Foods and other stores, it’s a wonderful substitute for regular mayonnaise, which contains eggs)
1/2 tsp – agave
1/4 tsp – stevia
1/8 tsp – vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)

Adjust the dressing to taste, I’m looking for a sweet dressing, then add to the rest of the ingredients.
You could consider adding cinnamon, nutmeg – I think I’ll try that next time.

Leave a Reply

